Teach with your iPad – plus Science Apps

POMT_screenshot7

Are you a secondary teacher who has just been given a iPad? Are you equal parts excited yet anxious as to how to use it in the classroom? Grab a cuppa and head over to teach with your ipad

My current practicum school just introduced iPad’s for all senior students. So I’ve been researching app’s I can use in my science classroom.

As a secondary teacher it is hard to find a good app review site aimed at high school teaching. A lot of education review pages are aimed at primary and middle schooling. If you’re a high school teacher who has just been given an iPad or even if you are an old hand you must check out Nathan Stevens teach with your ipad Wiki.

If your not familiar with Wiki’s they are collaborative online spaces where members can edit their own website. Teach with your ipad has something for everyone covering everything from what to do when you first get an iPad through to individual pages by grade level and teaching area. It is still a work in progress and not every grade level for every subject has been completed yet. Having said that the general information on this wiki is very good.I found the review of Science Apps quite useful. Some of my favourite science apps are listed and I found some new apps to try out like Powers of Minus Ten – Cells and Genetics.

POMT_screenshot1

Leave a comment